Slayer - Hell Awaits Live 1985

Slayer - Thrash Metal - USA


Reign in Blood Full-length 1986
Criminally Insane Single 1987
South of Heaven Full-length 1988
Seasons in the Abyss Single 1990
Seasons in the Abyss Full-length 1990
Decade of Aggression Live album 1991
The Tour '95 Split 1994
Divine Intervention Full-length 1994
Live Intrusion Single 1995
Serenity in Murder EP 1995
Live Intrusion Video 1995
I Hate You Single 1996
Undisputed Attitude Full-length 1996
Abolish Government Split 1996
Übernoise Compilation 1998
Diabolus in Musica Full-length 1998
Stain of Mind EP 1998
God Send Death Single 2001 1
God Hates Us All Full-length 2001
War at the Warfield Video 2003
Soundtrack to the Apocalypse Compilation 2003
Still Reigning Video 2004
Eternal Pyre Single 2006
Cult Single 2006
Christ Illusion Full-length 2006
Eyes of the Insane Single 2006
The Unholy Alliance Split video 2007
Psychopathy Red Single 2009
Hate Worldwide Single 2009
World Painted Blood Single 2009
World Painted Blood Full-length 2009
Exclusive Members Only DVD Video 2010
The Vinyl Conflict Boxed set 2010
The Big 4: Live from Sofia, Bulgaria Split video 2010
World Painted Blood / Atrocity Vendor Single 2010
Implode Single 2014
When the Stillness Comes Single 2015
Repentless Single 2015
You Against You Single 2015
Repentless Full-length 2015


Slayer was formed in 1981 by Los Angeles schoolmates and guitarists Jeff Hanneman and Kerry King. Tom Araya soon joined on bass and vocals, and drummer Dave Lombardo joined last in 1982. They played in a style reminiscent of early Exodus, influenced heavily by Iron Maiden and Judas Priest, before their attendance at a mid-1982 Metallica concert convinced them to play faster and heavier.

"Black Magic" was written in February 1983 and marked Slayer's definite venture into thrash metal. They secured a spot on the compilation appearance "Metal Massacre III" in 1983, contributing the speed metal song "Aggressive Perfector". They also recorded two demos in 1983, and became a popular live act in the Los Angeles area. (In 1983, Bob Gourley filled in for Dave for one gig. He later appeared in Dark Angel.) Their debut LP, Show no Mercy, was recorded in November, 1983.

"Show No Mercy" was released after Slayer appeared on Brian Slagel's "Metal Massacre III" compilation. Then came two EPs: "Haunting the Chapel" and "Live Undead" which was actually recorded in the studio in front of 50 of their closest friends.

After 1985's "Hell Awaits", Slayer were signed to Rick Rubin's Def Jam record label, better known for acts like Run DMC. This led to three studio albums, including the brutal "Reign in Blood", as well as a 1991 live double CD, "Decade of Aggression".

Dave Lombardo left the band in 1987 for several weeks, and was replaced for a few live gigs by Tony Scaglione (Whiplash), and then again left in 1992. Finally, in 1994, Paul Bostaph from Forbidden was brought in, and three more albums were recorded. Drummer Jon Dette was an official member of Slayer briefly in 1996.

Then, in 2001, Bostaph left to join Systematic, and Lombardo, who had been in Grip Inc. and Fantômas rejoined the band.

Interesting facts:

It's official that Slayer is the most covered metal band in the world aside from Metallica.

Kerry King played lead guitar on the Beastie Boys songs "Fight For Your Right" and "No Sleep Till Brooklyn", and appeared in the music video for the latter.

Tom Araya's brother John (Bloodcum) worked as an sound engineer for Slayer in their early days.

Gene Hoglan, the legendary drummer who has played in bands such as Dark Angel, Strapping Young Lad, and Death, used to be a Slayer lights man and roadie on the Show No Mercy tour, and was asked to be Dave Lombardo's drum tech on the Haunting North America tour ('84), but knocked it back to pursue his own music career. He even did backup vocals on the album Show No Mercy (the song Evil Has No Boundaries).

The band was never known as Dragonslayer. This has been refuted in countless interviews. And Slayer is not an acronym for 'Satan Laughs As You Eternally Rot', even though those words appeared on the first vinyl pressing of "Show No Mercy", between the grooves of the record (known as dead wax) and the paper label in the middle. DO NOT add false information!

The band covered Steppenwolf's "Born to be Wild" for the "NASCAR: Crank It Up" compilation in 2002.
Hinzugefügt von efilon in Musikvideos am 30. November um 02:28  ·  Öffentlich

Kommentare (0)

Kein login